Support The Site!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1990s change in playoff site determination

So I was reading up on some stuff getting ready for today's NDSU/UND game, relating to their football stadiums. They're obviously both on the larger side of D2 stadiums today, which is probably part of why they're now in FCS.

Anyways, I found this paragraph interesting. I'm relatively new to D2/NSIC football (10-15 years), so I wasn't familiar with this.

The awarding of home sites in Division II went from a bidding process "in which the wealthy Bison had money to burn" to a fairness doctrine based on records and ratings.

https://cnycentral.com/sports/colleg...l-at-fargodome

Can anyone tell me a little more about this, both what it was like before the change and what prompted the switch?

That's essentially it. NDSU could outbid the other teams for home games. A former poster back in the day named JBB used to talk about it all the time.

Comment

Originally posted by Stanger86 View Post
      So I was reading up on some stuff getting ready for today's NDSU/UND game, relating to their football stadiums. They're obviously both on the larger side of D2 stadiums today, which is probably part of why they're now in FCS.

Anyways, I found this paragraph interesting. I'm relatively new to D2/NSIC football (10-15 years), so I wasn't familiar with this.

The awarding of home sites in Division II went from a bidding process "in which the wealthy Bison had money to burn" to a fairness doctrine based on records and ratings.

https://cnycentral.com/sports/colleg...l-at-fargodome

Can anyone tell me a little more about this, both what it was like before the change and what prompted the switch?
      In 1991, it forced then top ranked IUP on the road for a semifinal game with Jacksonville State who had more money to offer for a home game.

Comment

Originally posted by IUPNation View Post