Support The Site!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GNAC tournament

Who do y'all got? Honestly, I think the winner of the potential second round matchup between Billings and host CWU (I know they have to get by SPU first) is the tournament winner. CWU is very difficult at home this year. Wildcats are 13-1 on the season in Ellensburg, the lone loss coming from Billings in early January after the Christmas/New Year break. I think the smart money is on the Yellowjackets, but I'm pulling for my Wildcats.

Thursday - #6 UAA vs. #3 St. Martins; #5 SPU vs. #4 CWU
    Friday - UAA/SMU vs. #2 NNU; SPU/CWU vs. #1 MSUB
    Sat - Championship round

For the women, I don't see anyone getting by MSUB, except maybe WWU who seems to be in the national playoff mix ever since I was a student at CWU in the mid 90s. I'm picking CWU women over Simon Fraser but see them getting knocked off by Billings in the second round. Anchorage over SPU on Thursday as well. Both UAA (to WWU) and CWU (to MSUB) losing out. Then I'll take WWU over MSUB in the final.

Thursday - #6 SPU vs. #3 UAA; #5 SFU vs. #4 CWU
    Friday - SPU/UAA vs. #2 WWU; SFU/CWU vs. #1 MSUB
    Sat - Championship round

I think it's reasonable to guess that UAA may beat SMU on Thur. While SMU has the talent to beat UAA, UAA gets up to play when they need to, while SMU has not been able to figure out this piece of their frustrating puzzle thus far. I would agree that the MSUB semi-final game against CWU or SPU will be interesting, in seeing how they bounce back from losing to Anchorage, and if they can get their turnovers under control, and potentially deal with CWU on their home floor.

It will also be interesting to see who the coaches vote as POTY, as well as the other awards.

Comment

UAA pretty much snuck in to the tournament on a free role here with that come from behind victory on Saturday over Billings. So they pretty much don’t have much to lose at this point.