X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT: NCAA Punishes Ferris State Head Coach

Whoa:

https://footballscoop.com/news/ncaa-...ational-champs

Petty tyrants- it’s not like one of his players gave a gun to a murderer.

Comment

As a coach I had often viewed the NCAA as mostly useless, infringing on the rights of student athletes and having no one to hold them accountable, and providing little guidance. Since then, DI football as made the NCAA a joke and they are completely unprepared to lead and level of football, even DII and DIII. Is it likely that the NCAA feelings are hurt as they are now irrelevant to the DI programs and this is what they feel the need to focus on? Does the public perception of the NCAA ever come into their punishment decisions, they don't really need a worse public perception than they already have with coaches around the country, big business, students, and potential agents. No wonder the NCAA has become outdated, irrelevant, and easily ridiculed. Kids somking a cigar after a win, grabbing a banner/sticker???? Wow, does the NCAA have private investigators checking for jock straps too?

Comment

Actions have consequences. The game is played at a high school where tobacco is prohibited. Players and coaches don't get to decide which rules to follow. They did this in 2021 and were warned not to do it again. They're lucky they didn't get a suspension the first time. This suspension is 100% warranted.

Comment

Originally posted by kodos View Post
          Actions have consequences. The game is played at a high school where tobacco is prohibited. Players and coaches don't get to decide which rules to follow. They did this in 2021 and were warned not to do it again. They're lucky they didn't get a suspension the first time. This suspension is 100% warranted.